Into Being

Into Being

Years ago, back in college, I developed this odd habit of not sleeping at night. I would sit by the window, read a book, invent worlds, stare blankly into the space and possess time, until morning arrived. Then, the moment sun came into being and touched my existence, I would retreat to my room and sleep.

For a couple of hours.
A couple of hours that made people wonder if I sleep.
At all.

Now, again, for two consecutive timelines I have seen the break of dawn. Drowsiness was very elusive, but I managed to snatch sleep and smuggle it for a couple of hours. Like before. But was shorter.

Than before.

I wonder if it’s back and is reclaiming me.

Leave a Reply

